Seguin Art League has a 35-year history of dedicated artists and community support that continues to grow today. We appreciate all the past and present donors, members, and volunteers for their hard work and continuous passion for the arts.
Established in 1982, Mary Franke began bringing together artists as an art club. By 1984, they became the Oakwood Art Group eventually joining the One Seguin Art Center with Mary Mizell serving as the first president. The Center’s name was later changed in 1997 to Seguin Oakwood Art League when it registered as a 501(c)3 nonprofit. The members gathered in homes, the One Seguin building, the Heritage Museum, the Silver Center, and in various churches. The League operated a successful gallery at 109 River St. for two years allowing art to inspire all ages including students, artists and supporters from all over Guadalupe County. In 2013, the name was changed to Seguin Art League (SAL). In 2014, SAL purchased the Klein Opera House which was built in 1890, located at 104 S. Austin Street in downtown Seguin, Texas. SAL is currently raising funds to renovate the historic structure to house an art gallery and performing arts center.
Seguin Art League successfully hosts several events throughout the year. Our annual staple event is the well-attended Yulefest Arts and Crafts Show held in December. Each year, we support young artists through student art shows featuring the work of area artists from grades 1 through 12 who utilize all media to showcase their abilities with other schools in and around the Guadalupe County area.